ExhibitionLimassolCyprus Symphony Orchestra starts 2019 with Strauss and Tchaikovsky

Cyprus Symphony Orchestra starts 2019 with Strauss and Tchaikovsky

The Cyprus Symphony Orchestra has chosen to start its new year performances with Strauss and Tchaikovsky.

In a press release on its website the Orchestra announces that it has chosen Joseph’s “Winter Joy Polka” and Johann’s “Emperor Waltz”, along with excerpts of Tchaikovsky’s three ballets and three excerpts from his opera “Eugene Onegin” with the CySO and conductor Jens Georg Bachmann joined by Paphos-based mezzo Anastasia Maximova Gonsales Moreau.

Music lovers will have the opportunity to enjoy on January 16, 17 and 18 in Strovolos, Pafos and Limassol the following:

Joseph Strauss: Fast Polka Winter Joy (Winterlust), op. 121

Johann Strauss: Emperor Waltz (Kaiser-Walzer), op. 437

I. Tchaikovsky: Waltz from Swan Lakeop. 20

Waltz from Sleeping Beautyop. 66

Waltz of the Flowers, Snowflake Waltz and Arab Dance from The Nutcrackerop. 71

Waltz, Polonaise and Letter scene from Evgene Onegin, op. 24

Pafos Municipality, Rialto Theatre and Limassol Municipality support the concerts.

In Nicosia, the performance will take place on Wednesday, January 16, at 2030 hours, at the Strovolos Municipal Theatre.

The orchestra then travels to Pafos, for one performance on Thursday, January 17, at 2030 hours, at Markidio Municipal Theatre.

Finally, the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra appears in Rialto Theatre, in Limassol, on Friday January 18 at 2030 hours.

(Cyprus News Agency)

Top Stories