NewsLocalLocal administration reforms provide for salaries of about €6m annually

Local administration reforms provide for salaries of about €6m annually

The island’s local administration reforms provide for 20 mayors, 93 deputy mayors and 442 councilors – all of whom costing the tax payer annual salaries totaling about €6 million.

As expected, the highest salaries will be paid to mayors – especially those of large municipalities such as Nicosia, Lakatamia, Strovolos, Limassol, East Limassol, Larnaca, Paphos and Paralimni-Dherynia. Their annual salaries will be reaching €77,656.

In the medium-sized municipalities such as Latsia-Geri, Polemidia, West Limassol, Aradippou, Meneou-Dromolaxia, East Paphos, Polis Chrysochou and Ayia Napa the annual remuneration is set at €61,125.

The mayors of the poorest municipalities (Athienou and Akamas) will have a salary of €54,359 and finally, the mayor of the poorest municipality, which is the Municipality of Lefkara, will have an annual salary of €46,593.

In more detail, the mayors of the large municipalities – as listed on the data submitted to the Parliament – will have a salary of €48,616, plus €4,051 as their 13th salary. In addition, they will have a performance allowance of €24,989.

The monthly remuneration of each of these mayors will be €5,953.

Other mayors, depending on their categories, will have monthly salaries of €4,778, €4,181 and €3,584.

Top Stories