NewsLocalGovernment publishes rules for checkpoints for June 8 partial opening

Government publishes rules for checkpoints for June 8 partial opening



The government on Friday announced the special rules that will apply for movement at the crossing points for certain groups of people, as of June 8.

According to the announcement, following the joint agreement between President Nicos Anastasiades and Turkish Cypriot leader Mustafa Akinci, the Republic is ready to allow the movement from the crossing points of certain groups of people, starting from June 8. The following groups must show a negative COVID-19 test, to have taken place the latest 72 hours prior to their crossing.

It is noted that random tests will be taking place at the crossing points.

The following groups are allowed to pass.

  1. Turkish Cypriots who work in the areas controlled by the Cyprus Republic must show a certificate by their employer with their full name and social security number. Copies of these certificates or any electronic proof will be allowed.
  2. Greek Cypriots who are permanent residents at Pyrgos Tilliria and who work in Nicosia. They must also show a certificate by their employer with social security number. Ambulances can pass with no restrictions.
  3. Turkish Cypriot students of schools or academic institutes in the Cyprus Republic are allowed to pass via the Ledra Palace checkpoint and will be transferred to their schools by vehicles organized by the schools. Private vehicles will not be allowed to cross . All students must carry a certificate of attendance.
  4. Enclaved or Greek Cypriots and Maronites who reside in the occupied areas.
  5. Cypriot citizens who reside in the occupied areas and need to visit the Bank of Cyprus Oncology Center, the Institute of Neurology and Genetics or any private and public hospitals . They need to carry a medical certificate by their doctor.
  6. Any other person can pass if permission is given by exemption for humanitarian issues.

The Turkish Cypriot regime has prohibited all crossings from mid-March. On April 11 the prohibition expanded to include the diplomatic corps and members of the UN.

The Republic of Cyprus’ Cabinet had decided on February 28 to suspend the operation of four crossing points (Ledras Street, Astromeritis, Lefka and Dherynia), as a precaution against COVID-19 continuing however to allow crossing in another five crossing points taking all necessary precautions.


Read more

Partial lifting of restrictions at checkpoints on June 8

Top Stories