News Local Coronavirus: New measures in occupied areas

Coronavirus: New measures in occupied areas

The so-called council of ministers in the Turkish-occupied areas adopted on Friday seven new measures against the spread of Coronavirus in its third special meeting on the issue, the CNA reports.

So-called foreign minister Kudret Özersay announced the following measures after the meeting:

-The public is encouraged to avoid unnecessary movements and gatherings

-Issuing of residence permits is suspended for the next 30 days, especially to people aged above 60 years. The public is urged to avoid applying for permits in person unless it’s absolutely necessary

-The so-called tourism ministry will circulate letters to hotels asking them to refrain from organising excursions of more than 10 people

-Travel abroad of so-called public employees are suspended and relevant permits can only be issued at the highest level. Such permits will not be issued unless it’s absolutely necessary

-The operation of so-called universities, the police academy, schools and kindergartens is suspended

-A 24-hour hotline will operate as of Friday evening

-A “ministerial committee” will convene under the “prime-minister” Ersin Tatar to examine the possible impact on the economy and relevant measures that can be taken.

Three more Coronavirus cases were confirmed in the Turkish-occupied areas on Friday, raising the total to five, and four more were confirmed in the areas controlled by the Republic of Cyprus raising the total to 14.

Read more:

Top Stories

43 new cases of COVID-19 on Monday

The Health Ministry announced 43 new COVID-19 cases on 19 October, out of 2,558 laboratory tests, taking confirmed infections to 2, 687. The break-down of...

1420 only for emergencies regarding COVID-19

Due to the increased number of telephone calls to the telephone center 1420 of the Ambulance Service, it is pointed out that the center...

Anastasiades-Tatar to meet in UN premises

Cyprus President Nicos Anastasiades and the new leader of the Turkish Cypriot community, Ersin Tatar, will meet in the UN premises in Nicosia. Government Spokesman,...

Four people sentenced to imprisonment for abduction

The Larnaca District Court today sentenced four people aged 42, 22, 24, and 19 to imprisonment for abducting a 27-year old last August in...

Weather expected to be cloudy with local showers this week

The weather this week is expected to be cloudy with local showers, mainly in the afternoons. Partly cloudy on Tuesday with isolated showers and possible...


Squash soup

Ingredients: 1 kg pumpkin, cut into small cubes, approximately 5 cups 2 medium (400g) sweet potatoes, cut into cubes, approximately 2 ½ cups 1 chopped leek, only...


No visit to Cyprus is complete without enjoying the traditional meal of many small dishes known as ‘meze’. This large feast, which has been a...

Prawns with fried cheese, barley shaped pasta

Put the barley shaped pasta into a small pan with salted water, bring to a boil and when tender, drain. Peal the prawns leaving...

Salmon and shrimp sheftalies

Mix all ingredients for tabbouli in a bowl and keep to one side so flavours can combine. Prepare the sheftalies: wash and soak the casing...