News Local Coronavirus: Health Ministry updates list of certified labs

Coronavirus: Health Ministry updates list of certified labs

The Health Ministry has published an updated list of accredited organisations in EU member states from which it can accept the health certificate required to enter the Republic of Cyprus.

It said that because every country had different rules as regards carrying out the tests, it was decided that it will also accept lab results from a lab recognised by the Health Ministry of the respective country of departure, and that this should be officially certified.

This also applies for countries not included on the updated list.

There has been a flood of criticism from Cypriots stranded abroad who cannot obtain a certificate. They say that health authorities are over stretched and will not carry out tests to people without symptoms.

Airlines have been given instructions not to board passengers with the necessary document while an urgent meeting is underway at the Presidential Palace to see how to help Cypriots stranded abroad.

The new rules came into force at 6 pm on Monday. All arrivals are also quarantined for 14 days.

Austria Klinisches Institut für Virologie
Austria Österreichische Agentur für Gesundheit und Ernährungssicherheit (Vienna)
Austria Medizinische Universität Wien
Belgium Sciensano
Belgium Centre National de Référence 
Bulgaria Национален център по заразни и паразитно болести
Croatia Hrvatski Zavod za Javno Zdravstvo
Czech Republic Státní zdravotní ústav
Denmark Statens Serum Institut
Estonia Terviseamet
Finland Terveyden ja hyvinvoinnin laitos
France CNR Virus Influenzae – Région Nord
France Institut Pasteur (Paris)
France CPias Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
Germany NRZ Influenza
Germany Robert Koch Institut
Greece Greek Pasteur Institute
Greece Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Hungary Nemzeti Népegészségügyi Központ
Iceland Landspítali
Iceland Embætti landlæknis
Ireland National Virus Reference Laboratory
Ireland Health Protection Surveillance Centre
Latvia Latvijas Infektologijas Centrs
Lithuania Nacionalinė visuomenės sveikatos priežiūros laboratorija
Luxembourg Direction de la Santé – Inspection Sanitaire
Luxembourg Laboratoire National de Sante
Malta Pathology laboratory
Netherlands Universitair Medisch Centrum Rotterdam
Netherlands Rijksinstituut voor Volksgezondheid en Milieu
Norway Nasjonalt folkehelseinstitutt
Poland Narodowy Instytut Zdrowia Publicznego – Państwowy Zakład Higieny
Poland Krajowy Ośrodek ds. Grypy
Portugal Instituto Nacional de Saúde Doutor Ricardo Jorge
Romania Institutul National de Cercetare -Dezvoltare pentru Microbiologie si Imunologie Cantacuzino
Romania Institutul National de Sanatate Publica
Slovak Republic Úrad verejného zdravotníctva Slovenskej Republiky
Slovenia Laboratorij za Javnozdravstveno Virologijo
Spain Centro Nacional de Microbiologia
Spain Instituto de Salud Carlos III
Spain Centro Nacional de Microbiologia
United Kingdom National Institute for Medical Research
United Kingdom West of Scotland Specialist Virology Centre
United Kingdom Public Health England 
United Kingdom West of Scotland Specialist Virology Centre
United Kingdom Wales Specialist Virology Centre
United Kingdom Health Protection Scotland – NHS National Services Scotland

Read more

Top Stories

Star lawyer in scandalous Al Jazeera ‘golden passports’ video posts own sound clip

A Paralimni lawyer who had starred in a scandalous ‘golden passports’ video which brought down the House president and an opposition MP on Thursday...

Court to decide next Thursday on suspension of operation decree of toxic asphalt unit

A decree application for the immediate suspension of operation of a highly-toxic asphalt production plant in Dhali area was submitted before a Nicosia district...

Cyprus ranks in top 10 countries in COVID Performance Index of almost 100 countries

Cyprus ranks in the top 10 countries in a COVID Performance Index of almost 100 countries for their successful handling of the coronavirus pandemic,...

Safety, precautionary measures in playgrounds in Cyprus inadequate

Safety and precautionary measures in playgrounds in Cyprus are inadequate, a Nicosia district court has said in its ruling in a case where a...

Playful panda cub makes virtual debut at National Zoo in Washington

He may be a giant panda, but for now Xiao Qi Ji is still a baby, romping with toys and snacking on sweet potato,...


Squash soup

Ingredients: 1 kg pumpkin, cut into small cubes, approximately 5 cups 2 medium (400g) sweet potatoes, cut into cubes, approximately 2 ½ cups 1 chopped leek, only...


No visit to Cyprus is complete without enjoying the traditional meal of many small dishes known as ‘meze’. This large feast, which has been a...

Prawns with fried cheese, barley shaped pasta

Put the barley shaped pasta into a small pan with salted water, bring to a boil and when tender, drain. Peal the prawns leaving...

Salmon and shrimp sheftalies

Mix all ingredients for tabbouli in a bowl and keep to one side so flavours can combine. Prepare the sheftalies: wash and soak the casing...